Stanislaus Council of Governments (StanCOG)

Job Classifications

StanCOG is a council of city and county governments comprised of the Cities of Ceres, Hughson, Modesto, Newman, Oakdale, Patterson, Riverbank, Turlock and Waterford, and the County of Stanislaus, that was established in 1971 by a Joint Powers Agreement (JPA) to address regional transportation issues.

StanCOG is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Stanislaus region as designated by the federal government, the Regional Transportation Planning Agency (RTPA) as designated by the State of California, and the Local Transportation Authority (LTA). An MPO/RTPA/LTA is a public organization that works with local governments and citizens in its region by dealing with issues and needs that cross city and county boundaries.

StanCOG is responsible for developing and updating a variety of transportation plans, and for allocating the federal, state and local funds to implement them. While regional transportation planning is its primary role, issues that affect the entire region such as air quality are also part of what StanCOG does.

StanCOG provides the forum that brings mayors, city council members and county supervisors together to work on regional issues in a setting that